A federal grant will help two primary care clinics expand their services and become Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC) and allow three established FQHCs to open new access points.

Health and Human Services (HHS) Secretary Sylvia Burwell announced the awarding of new grants made possible by the Affordable Care Act to expand community health centers. Five grants were awarded to Kansas clinics totaling $3,183,334. Community Health Center in Cowley County in Winfield and Hoxie Medical Clinic in Sheridan County will transition into FQHCs with an awarded $704,167 respectively. Community Health Center of Southeast Kansas was awarded $475,000, with GraceMed in Wichita and Health Partnership of Johnson County each receiving $650,000. The grant will allow the health centers to serve an estimated 20,000 additional patients.

In addition to establishing two new health centers, these new access points grants will allow the established health centers to increase the service area they currently provide. Community Health Center of Southeast Kansas will target the uninsured and underserved population in Labette County by opening a new health center in Parsons. Services will include medical, dental and mental health care. Health Partnership Clinic will open a new clinic in Ottawa, providing medical, dental and behavioral health services to Franklin County residents. GraceMed will expand care to south Wichita with a new facility that will provide medical, dental, behavioral health, and lab services.

Community health centers work to improve the health of the nation by ensuring access to quality primary health care services. Kansas now has 18 FQHCs.